Anglo Welsh Cup
LV Cup

The Anglo Welsh Cup, is a competition between the 12 English Premiership teams and the 4 Pro 12 Welsh teams. They play in 4 pools of 4 teams. Each pool has 3 English teams and 1 Welsh team. The teams in Pool 1 play the teams in Pool 4 and the teams in Pool 2 play the teams in Pool 3.

The winner of each pool then progresses on to semi-finals and the winners of these on to the final.

Teams in the LV Cup - 2016/17

Pool 1

  • Newport Gwent Dragons
  • Saracens
  • Northampton Saints
  • Bath

Pool 2

  • Exeter Chiefs
  • Ospreys
  • Sale Sharks
  • Worcester Warriors

Pool 3

  • Bristol
  • Cardiff Blues
  • Harlequins
  • Wasps

Pool 4

  • Gloucester
  • Leicester Tigers
  • Newcastle Falcons
  • Scarlets

2016/17 LV Cup Results

Click on the link above for the LV= Cup results and competition tables

History of the Anglo Welsh Cup

The Anglo Welsh Cup started in 2005/06. Prior to this, from 1971 to 2005, the competition was the English clubs knockout competition. It has had a number of different names over the years including: John Player Cup, Pilkington Cup, Tetley's Bitter Cup, PowerGen Cup and the EDF Energy Cup.

In 2005 a new format was introduced. The competition would involve only the 12 Premiership teams from England and the 4 professional Welsh teams. Instead of a knockout format, 4 pools of 4 teams was established. Teams in each pool played each other once and then the top teams from each pool moved on to semi-finals and then the winners on to the final.

In 2006/07 the competition had a new sponsor and was called the EDF Energy Cup, but the same format was used.

In 2009/10, with a new sponsor, the competition was called the LV Cup. A new format saw teams in Pool 1 play the teams in Pool 4, and the teams in Pool 2 play the teams in Pool 3. This allowed each team to have 2 home and 2 away games. The top teams from each pool then progressed to the semi-finals and the winners on to the final.

This format has remained in place for each season until 2014/15. 

In 2015, due to the RWC being held in England and the ensuing congestion to the rugby calendar, the Anglo-Welsh Cup was not be played for in the 2015/16 season.